Header Ads Widget




 Mahindra Racing returns to its happy hunting ground for round five of the 2019/20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship on Saturday 29 February after the squad became the only team to make four consecutive Super Pole appearances in Season 6 last time out in Mexico. Following the Marrakesh E-Prix, the team is also pleased to announce it will be running Pipo Derani and its Reserve and Simulator driver Sam Dejonghe in the rookie test on Sunday 1 March.

Jérôme D’Ambrosio, the 2018/19 season winner of the Marrakesh E-Prix, who became the sixth highest scoring Formula E driver of all time after the Mexico City E-Prix, will pilot the #64 M6Electro. His teammate Pascal Wehrlein, who had a strong qualifying session in his very first Formula E race in Marrakesh in Season 5, will be looking to repeat that in his #94 M6Electro.

Derani will join Mahindra Racing for the rookie test day. He has made a name for himself in single seater and sportscar racing as a British Formula 3 and Petit Le Mans winner. In 2016 he won the 12 Hours of Sebring and 24 Hours of Daytona to become the first Brazilian to achieve these two feats in the same year. The 26-year-old has since won the 12 Hours of Sebring two further times (2018 and 2019), making him the youngest ever three-time winner and joining the Florida venue’s hall of fame alongside Formula 1 Champion Phil Hill and the legendary Mario Andretti. Most recently, Derani was runner-up in the 2019 IMSA Weathertech Sportscar Championship.

Dejonghe is a familiar face in the Formula E paddock. This will be the Belgian driver’s third rookie test. Since his last Formula E test, Dejonghe has grown his trophy collection from racing in the European Le Mans Series and continued as an F1 commentator for PlaySports, in addition to his role at Mahindra Racing. He’s back in Marrakesh for a third time to continue to help the squad with its M6Electro development programme.

The Marrakesh E-Prix takes place on Saturday 29 February at 15.04 local time. The Marrakesh rookie test follows on Sunday 1 March.

Post a Comment